Teaching Technology through MUVE

Following the MUVEnation project (MUVE: Multi-User Virtual Environments)

First experience with OpenSim

Posted by slandete on Wednesday, August 26, 2009

A virtual world hosted in my machine

A virtual world hosted in my machine

I did some experiments with OpenSim and now I have a working 3D world simulator that works like Second Life – you can even use the Second Life official client to connect to it – but since it is hosted in my own machine it is completely free to upload stuff and I get to control everything.

Getting it to work in Ubuntu 9.04 was pretty straightforward except for one caveat: when running it for the first time, it asks for some values. When it comes to the internal IP address, the default value is 127.0.0.1, but you should actually enter 0.0.0.0.

Now I am trying to install it in my server to let people outside my network to log into it. I will continue reporting here.

Leave a Reply

 
